

Mayor Joanne D. Yepsen
Commissioner Michele Madigan
Commissioner Anthony Scirocco
Commissioner Christian Matheisen
Commissioner John P. Franck

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y.

WHEREAS, the Saratoga Springs City Center Authority ("Authority") was created by an act of the State Legislature in 1982. As originally created, the Saratoga Springs City Center Authority Board ("Board") consisted of seven members, all of whom are appointed by the mayor, with the consent of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Authority has proven to be an indispensable asset to our city. It has brought countless thousands of visitors to us and made great contributions to our local economy, particularly to our award-winning downtown. In recent years, the City Center facility has undergone extensive expansion and renovation, and through the last three decades has witnessed significant growth in activity; and

WHEREAS, an expansion of the Authority's board is entirely consistent with the recent expansion of its physical space, its schedule of events, and its growing role in our community. The addition of two board members would increase the Board's perspective, expertise, knowledge and efficiency.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS FOLLOWS:

- 1) This Council does hereby support and encourage the enactment of state legislation increasing the membership of the Saratoga Springs City Center Authority Board from seven (7) members to nine (9) members, all of whom are appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council;
- 2) This Council directs that a copy of this resolution be forwarded forthwith to our representatives in the State Senate and the State Assembly

DATED: June 17, 2014	
Ayes:	
Nays:	
	CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SARATOGA SPRINGS
	BY:
	John P. Franck, City Clerk