

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SARATOGA SPRINGS, NEW YORK

REAFFIRMING THE CITY SAFETY COMMITTEE AND ITS MEMBERS

Mayor Joanne Yepsen Commissioner John Franck Commissioner Michele Madigan Commissioner Anthony Scirocco Commissioner Christian Mathiesen

WHEREAS, the City Council did originally establish a Safety Committee in 2002 with representation from all appropriate City departments to assist in the identification of and management of risk and safety issues on its behalf; and

WHEREAS, the City Council hereby reaffirms the importance of the City Safety Committee and its charge of protecting the welfare and safety of its employees, citizens and visitors on behalf of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the City Council reaffirms the commitment of each City Department and the universal goal of providing a safe and healthful working environment for all City employees and the safety of the community at large; and

WHEREAS, the Safety Committee is charged with assisting the City Council in: providing a safe and healthy working environment for its employees in accordance with federal and state regulatory requirements; participating in the identification of and measurement of the risks facing the City and community at large; responding to and assisting in the resolution of safety related inquiries and complaints from citizens, employees and/or employee bargaining units; assisting and responding to local, state and federal regulatory matters as they pertain to risk and safety issues; developing risk and safety programs in response to federal and state regulatory mandates and/or City insurance requests for correction; providing the City's Capital Budget Committee with annual requests for the repair, refurbishment and/or replacement of the City's buildings, equipment and/or property in accordance with the City's insurance loss prevention studies, City Fire Department Inspections, and federal and/or state regulatory and compliance mandates; reviewing inspection reports and responding to recommendations, violations and fines as needed; providing risk and safety policy programming recommendations to City Council for adoption; and assist in implementing the risk and safety policy programming as adopted by City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Director of Risk and Safety shall have the responsibility of chairing the City's Safety Committee and acting as its liaison as Safety and Compliance Officer of the City to ensure the City's risk and safety directives are carried out in accordance with this Safe City Program per the City Council's directives; and

NOW,THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the City Council does hereby establish the voting membership of the Safety Committee as follows: Director of Risk and Safety as Chairperson; City Engineer; Director of Public Works; Zoning & Building Inspector; Fire Chief or his/her designee; Police Chief or his/her designee; Police Department Administrative Lieutenant; Civil Service Secretary; Human Resource Administrator; Administrative Director of Recreation; Deputy Mayor; Deputy Commissioner of Accounts, Finance, Public Works and Public Safety; and one representative from each of the City's collective bargaining units. The City's Insurance Agent and the City Attorney shall serve as Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members and advisors to the Safety Committee.

Adopted: Ayes:

Nays: